image 2.svg


University Liggett School awards Thelma Fox Murray scholarships

Five University Liggett School students have been honored with the Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship for the 2021-22 academic year.

This year’s recipients are: Olivia Dickey ‘22 of Grosse Pointe Woods, Grace Govier-LaParl ‘22 of Grosse Pointe Woods, Elese Kogel ‘22 of Grosse Pointe Farms, Logan Merriweather ‘22 of Detroit and Ava Said ‘22 of Grosse Pointe Shores.
The Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship is awarded each year to students who display integrity, humility, a sense of humor, athletic achievement, academic excellence and leadership qualities. Murray, a 1917 Liggett School alumna, left a lasting personal commitment to education in her endowment gift to University Liggett School upon her death in 1987.
Since that time, the scholarship has been awarded each year to deserving students at the school. The ULS scholarship committee and scholarship trustee S. Gary Spicer Sr. selects the students.