image 2.svg


University Liggett School awards Thelma Fox Murray scholarships

Five  have been honored with the Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship for the 2023-24 academic year.  

This year’s recipients are: Sofie Ancona '24, Ella Henness '24, Hallie Marcero '24; Elle Quinlan '24 and Alice Roth '24. 

Ancona is a member of the hockey and soccer teams. Henness plays volleyball and soccer. Marcero is a three sport athlete in field hockey, basketball and lacrosse. Quinlan is a member of the hockey and soccer teams. Roth is also a three-sport athlete, participating in swimming, hockey and lacrosse.  

Shernaz Minwalla, Head of Upper School said all five student-athletes exemplify the principles Fox Murray valued. 

The Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship is awarded each year to students who display integrity, humility, sense of humor, athletic achievement, academic excellence and leadership qualities. Murray, a 1917 Liggett School alumna, left a lasting personal commitment to education in her endowment gift to University Liggett School upon her death in 1987. 

Since that time, the scholarship has been awarded each year to deserving students at the school. The ULS scholarship committee and scholarship trustee S. Gary Spicer Sr. selects the students.