ULS Thelma Fox Murray copy

ULS awards Thelma Fox Murray scholarships 10/26/2020

Five University Liggett School students have been honored with the Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship for the 2020-21 academic year.

This year’s recipients are Frances Boyle ‘21 of Detroit, Kaitlyn Gray ‘21 of Grosse Pointe, Sophia Filipof ‘21 of Grosse Pointe Shores, Reese Martin ‘21 of St. Clair Shores and Meena Pandrangi ‘21 of Grosse Pointe Woods.
The Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship is awarded each year to students who display integrity, humility, sense of humor, athletic achievement, academic excellence and leadership qualities. Murray, a 1917 Liggett School alumna, left a lasting personal commitment to education in her endowment gift to University Liggett School upon her death in 1987.

Since that time, the scholarship has been awarded each year to deserving students at the school. The ULS scholarship committee and scholarship trustee S. Gary Spicer Sr. selects the students.